Message from the president

Let me thank you for the interest you have shown to our company, which, for me personally, has long since ceased to be just a place of employment and turned into a home with its own troubles and cares, achievements and success.

Today, if I were asked to define Hydromash’s role in history, 2 words would suffice: a pioneer company. Our factory has always been the first. Here, the Russian automotive industry was born; it is from here that the first Russian aircraft engines took the first airplanes to the sky.

Hydromash was founded as a carriage shop in the early XIX century. Back then, Russia experienced an industrial boom being ahead of Europe by a number of economic parameters. It the Russian companies’ products – such as those of the plants owned by the Demidovs, Batashevs, etc. – that provided a material basis for such an impressive breakthrough. The number of Russian entrepreneurs grew day to day; one of those people was the guild-three merchant Piotr Ilyin, who founded a carriage factory in Moscow in 1805. His company’s products were so fine and reliable that, following a request from the Russian Minister of Finance, in 1849 Ilyin was granted the right to have the national coat-of-arms shown on his company’s sign boards. Then Ilyin’s factory, with its most state-of-the-art equipment, became one of the largest industrial enterprises of Russia. But the time demanded further steps, and the factory struggled to keep up with the newest trends.  When the young Soviet country needed cars, Ilyin’s followers recalled their carriage-making past and without hesitation started to produce the first Soviet compacts.

The wide range of the most advanced XIX-century equipment manufactured by the plant was really impressive. Just think of it: the aircraft engine, the Fowler motor plough or the NAMI-1 car – all these, in the 1920s! These were the most sophisticated products back then. Even today, I cannot but admire the courage the people of that epoque had when taking on absolutely new tasks and not fearing to lose. Putting new products into manufacture was quite a routine work for those people and for the whole plant.

In 1933 the company became a part of  "Glavaviaprom"

I started to work for Hydromash after the war, in 1950. That was a time of renovation, reconstruction and modernization.

But suddenly an unjustified economic crisis occurred having been caused by poorly planned reforms, although there really were many things that required changing. We were struggling against the crisis together with the entire country. It was a fearful and painful time. In spite of everything, we survived – maybe, to a great extent owing to our more than a century’s work in a true market economy, which had made us stronger.

Nowadays, Hydromash JSC develops, invests in renovation, and buys up-to-date equipment – all this being an independent private company not comprised by any concern, holding or group. We are leaders in helicopter and airplane landing gear production. We take part in the development and manufacture of landing gears and hydraulic equipment for practically all of the new Russian passenger airliner MS-21.

Furthermore, for 20 years Hydromash JSC has been integrated into the world’s aviation industry and cooperated with the leading aerospace manufacturers of Germany, Italy and France. We supply our products for Airbus, Embraer, and Global Express airplanes, and for Agusta helicopters; we are the only Russian supplier of Ti blocks for Airbus А380 spoiler control system; we continue to take part in prospective international projects such as Airbus А350XWB и Bombardier C Series.

For its future, our team relies on the revival of Russian aviation. With Hydromash being inseparable from the latter, we cannot imagine ourselves apart from it, and we are firmly convinced that Russian aviation was, is, and will be a source of pride for Russia, the Russia that has recovered its might and is among the leading countries of the world.

V.I. Luzyanin,

President of Hydromash JSC, Hero of Socialist Labour, Laureate of State Prize;
holder of the decorations: Order of Lenin, Order of the Red Banner of Labour, Badge of Honour, Order for Merit to the Fatherland, IVth grade; Honorary Aircraft Builder, Honorary Citizen of the Nizhny Novgorod Region

Обращение президента компании

Уважаемые гости сайта Нижегородского ОАО «Гидромаш»!

Позвольте поблагодарить Вас за интерес, проявленный к нашему предприятию, которое для меня лично давно уже перестало быть просто местом работы, превратившись в родной дом со своими заботами и тревогами, удачами и радостями.

Если бы сегодня меня попросили определить роль, уготованную “Гидромашу” историей, мне бы хватило двух слов - завод-первопроходец. Всегда и во всем наш завод был первым. Здесь зародилось отечественное автомобилестроение, отсюда на отечественных моторах пролегла дорога в небо для первых российских самолетов.

Начинался “Гидромаш” на заре XIX века как каретная мастерская. В те времена Россия переживала промышленный расцвет, по ряду экономических показателей превосходя Европу. Материальной базой для такого мощного рывка вперед стала продукция российских предприятий, и, прежде всего, заводов Демидовых, Баташевых и других. День ото дня росло число русских предпринимателей, одним из которых и стал третьей гильдии купец Петр Ильин, открывший в Москве в 1805 году каретную фабрику. Продукция предприятия была настолько хороша и надежна, что в 1849 году по представлению министра финансов Ильин получил право иметь на вывесках своего заведения изображение государственного герба установленного образца. Тогда фабрика Ильина стала одним из крупнейших в то время промышленных предприятий страны, оснащенных по последнему слову техники. Но время требовало дальнейших шагов, и фабрика стремилась соответствовать новым веяниям.  А когда молодой стране Советов понадобились легковые автомобили, ильинцы вспомнили свое каретное прошлое, и без колебаний приступили к выпуску первых советских малолитражек.

Поражает разнообразие самой современной техники начала XX века, которую делали на заводе. Вдумайтесь только, что такое авиационный двигатель, автоплуг «Фаулер», автомобиль НАМИ-1 в 1920-е годы! В то время это была самая сложная техника в машиностроении. Я и сегодня восхищаюсь бесстрашием, с которым люди того времени брались за совершенно новую работу и не боялись проиграть. Освоение новой продукции было для них, как и для самого завода, абсолютно привычным делом.

В 1933-м году предприятие вошло в состав "Глававиапрома".

Я пришел на “Гидромаш” после войны, в 1950-м. Это была пора восстановления, реконструкции, освоения нового.

А потом случился ничем неоправданный экономический кризис, вызванный непродуманными реформами, хотя многое, действительно, требовало перестройки. Мы переживали его вместе со всей страной. Переживали страшно, болезненно. И вопреки всему выстояли, возможно, в немалой степени и потому, что более столетия мы работали в настоящем рынке, и он нас закалил.

Сейчас НОАО “Гидромаш” развивается, обновляется, закупает современное оборудование, являясь самостоятельным частным предприятием, которое не входит в состав ни одного концерна, холдинга или группы компаний. Предприятие занимает лидирующие позиции в производстве взлетно-посадочных устройств для самолетов и вертолетов. Участвует в проектировании и изготовлении шасси и гидроагрегатов практически ко всем новым отечественным крылатым машинам, включая  новый пассажирский лайнер МС-21.

Кроме того, на протяжении двадцати лет НОАО «Гидромаш» интегрировано в мировое авиастроение и сотрудничает с ведущими авиационными производителями Германии, Италии, Франции. Поставляет продукцию для самолетов «Аэробус», «Эмбраер», «Глобал Экспресс», вертолета «Агуста», является единственным в России поставщиком титановых блоков для системы управления спойлерами самолета «Эрбас» А380, продолжает участие в перспективных международных проектах - «Эрбас» А350XWB и "Бомбардье C-серия".

Свое будущее наш коллектив связывает с возрождением отечественной авиации. Ведь «Гидромаш» и российское авиастроение неразделимы, мы не видим себя вне авиации и твердо уверены в том, что она была, есть и будет предметом гордости России - России, восстановившей свое могущество и занимающей одно из ведущих мест в мире.


В.И. Лузянин,
президент НОАО «Гидромаш», Герой Социалистического Труда, лауреат Государственной премии, кавалер орденов Ленина, Трудового Красного Знамени, «Знак Почета», «За заслуги перед Отечеством» IV степени, Почетный авиастроитель, Почетный гражданин Нижегородской области